Staying on Track: designing a peer-led telehealth self-management intervention for people with newly acquired SCI and their whānau

BAIL_ICON_REMAINING_HEALTHY

Research framework

Remaining Healthy

Overview

We aim to develop the content of a telehealth peer-led self-management intervention aimed at preventing secondary health conditions for people with SCI. Within a community-based participatory research methodological approach we will collaborate with people with the lived experience (PLEx) of SCI and their whānau/family, consumer-led advocacy organisations (i.e., peer supporters) and both inpatient rehabilitation and community-based healthcare and rehabilitation service providers.

This project is funded by a grants from ANZSCOS and HRC.

Method

We will use a 3-phase co-design research method to,

  1. establish a core co-design research team and review white and grey literature to ensure evidence-based and theoretically-based intervention development,
  2. interrogate emerging concepts with a broader range of stakeholders via an online survey and purposively sampled focus groups, and
  3. ensure knowledge translation, implementation and evaluation processes for the self-management intervention are in place.

Status of Research

Recruitment and Data collection underway

Staying on Track survey participant information sheet

Key Contact

Dr Susan Gee,
Senior researcher,
Burwood Academy 
Phone:  +64 3 383 6871
Email: susan.gee@burwood.org.nz

Researchers and Collaborators

Te Ao Marama (Jodi) Apiata,
Māori Advisor,
Burwood Academy
Phone:  +64 3 383 6871
Email: jodi.apiata@burwood.org.nz

Dr Jo Nunnerley,
Academy Director,
Burwood Academy

Phone:  +64 3 383 6871
Mobile: +64 21 187 2651
Email: jo.nunnerley@burwood.org.nz

Dr Rachelle Martin,
Knowledge Translation Lead,
Burwood Academy
Phone:  +64 3 383 6871
Mobile:  +64 21 223 3362
Email: rachelle.martin@burwood.org.nz

Cate Grace,
PLEx Engagement Lead,
Burwood Academy
Phone:  +64 3 383 6871
Mobile: tel:+64 27 532 7248
Email: cate.grace@burwood.org.nz

Emily Timothy,
Clinical Researcher;
Burwood Academy 

Phone:  +64 3 383 6871
Email: emily.timothy@burwood.org.nz

Josh Caldwell
Research Assistant & PLEx Network Coordinator
Burwood Academy
Phone:  +64 3 383 6871
Email:Josh.caldwell@burwood.org.nz